1979 C20 - ignition?

Classic Trucks
Item Posts    Sort Order

1979 C20 - ignition?

Mariann Kennedy Mariann Kennedy
New User | Posts: 1 | Joined: 11/13
Posted: 11/01/13
11:48 AM

I have a 79 C20 that was someone else's daily driver when I bought it. I have a bad habit of jumping in and driving without bothering with the keys Smile So one day I decided it would be a brilliant idea to leave the ignition in the start position - toasted my battery, obviously. Replaced the battery, can get dash lights for a minute, but as soon as I crank on it, everything is dead.
I'm new to this and most of you are probably laughing at me, but I look forward to learning all about this, I've wanted this pickup since I was a child - I'm sure I've burnt up a wire or something, but any advice on where to start is greatly appreciated. I'm in no hurry to rig anything - this is my baby and not my daily.
Not afraid to learn, or of a little laughter, but y'all don't be cruel to me - I know it was a brilliant move on my part Smile  

wayne712222 wayne712222
User | Posts: 100 | Joined: 10/13
02:23 PM

first... are you sure the battery is fully charged.????

can you check the battery cables.. make sure the cables are TIGHT.. that they won't turn when the bolts are tightened..

discharged batteries are the number one cause of what you describe..

loose or dirty battery cables.. and some side terminal batteries have shallower holes that others.. so the bolts bottom out before the cable gets tight..

this is printable..

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Voltagedroptesting

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
post results ..

battery voltage after one minute headlight on..____________

1._____________

2._____________

3._____________

4.______________

lets start with the CHEEP parts...

do you have an automatic transmission or a manual transmission...