My 1984 Step-side

Classic Trucks
Item Posts    Sort Order

My 1984 Step-side

Hellfire237 Hellfire237
New User | Posts: 3 | Joined: 11/13
Posted: 11/25/13
03:30 PM

Hello everyone i recently purchased a 1984 Chevy c-10 pickup and i have a few questions.

This truck is running a 4.1 L GMC 250 I-6 linked up to a 3 speed Saginaw and I am thinking about swapping it out to a high output 305 Linked to the 3 speed. I know this has been done many times before but i am new to mechanics. What is it going to take to do this, Is this 305 better or will i regret this decision down the road. any input will be appreciated Thanks.  

wayne712222 wayne712222
User | Posts: 100 | Joined: 10/13
Posted: 11/25/13
10:42 PM

a few things...

you are talking about a bolt in swap. but there are a lot of changes..

the motor mount to frame brackets are different..   if you swap.. do put your brackets up on ebay.. there have been several people looking for them..  frame to mount.. mount...  and mount to engine brackets

a few things. and these are my personal feelings..

a straight six.. 3 on the tree... is COOL..   hint.. you can also .. swap to a 4 speed transmission.. even something like the A833 overdrive 4 speed.. that has the lever flipped on the forward shift shaft... and a morse cable to move reverse (the third lever ) in and out..  so you could have 4 on the tree with the 4th being overdrive..

i don't know if you will have to change the drive shaft length.. but it should almost bolt in..   and yes.. thats a chrysler transmission.. but they made GM versions.. in the overdrive variant as i recall..

you could also... switch to a floor shift 5 speed... .. like an NV4500..  there are several articles on that...

all this with the straight six..

one thing.. there are several versions of the emission systems on the straight six..

can you identify the emission label under the hood..  the bottom 2 lines usually say... federal emissions standards.. or california emission standards..